weraluxury.blogg.se

Exif data viewer reddit
Exif data viewer reddit




Some of the type of information that is stored is shown in the data sample below. In addition, when I update an image with Gimp, say to crop it or rotate it 90 degrees, Gimp also adds information to the image file. And, if your phone/camera has geotagging turned on, it will also include the altitude, longitude and latitude of the place where the photo was taken. This information is quite extensive - depending on the digital camera you're using, containing detailed information about the photo such as the make and model of the digital camera that was used, whether a flash was used, the focal length, light value, and the shutter speed that was used when it was taken. To begin, all the metadata regarding the photos that we take with our digital cameras and phones are stored in the EXIF (exchangeable image format) data that is incorporated into the jpg (and tiff) photos. OK, so what's going on and how much information is stored and where? The only real surprise was that I'd never really paid much attention to this before. This told me, unless these tools were both doing an extremely clever image analysis, 1) that my phone was smarter than I thought as it clearly was able to detect and record its orientation and 2) that this information was stored within my photos.

exif data viewer reddit

That is, I'd taken them with my digital camera (OK, my iphone) turned sideways.

exif data viewer reddit

Why? Because, when I added an image to my Facebook page or opened one up to do a little cropping with Gimp, it was obvious that both Firefox and Gimp knew that some of my images were rotated. I was filing some of my 2015 family photos and started thinking about how much more complex the jpg format had become since I first did a deep dive into it more than twenty years ago.

exif data viewer reddit

My curiosity about the kind of metadata that was stored inside the photos I've been taking with my iPhone arose only recently. Ever wonder about how much information is stored in your image files beyond the pixels that comprise the images themselves? And what that data might tell about you, your camera, your photographic style, and your location? It just might be a lot more than you ever imagined.






Exif data viewer reddit